Mom’s Stuffed Jalapenos

Mom’s Stuffed Jalapenos

My mom used to make these fairly often for my dad and brother, who both like spicy food. I, however, do not like even a teeny tiny little bit of spiciness. Too much burning in my mouth! My boyfriend loves them, so I got the recipe (more like process) from my mom and dad. Hopefully you will enjoy them more than I do!

(Note: I have no idea how to make the pork stuffing, I recently moved in with my bf and my parents provided me with various pre-made things, such as dumpling meat, sauces, dough, and other frozen meats.  It’s basically ground pork, sugar, salt, pepper, napa, chives or some other green thing, chinese fivespice, and…other stuff.  I’m sure you can find various recipes for this versatile meat online.)

Image(these are raw)

Ingredients:
Jalapenos (a lot of them, usually the smaller ones are spicier so we use those, I think i had like 20 or 30)
Mom’s Ground Pork Dumpling Meat
Veg Oil
2 Minced Garlic Cloves
¼ cup Water
2 Tbsp Soy Sauce
Sugar
MSG
Chicken Flavoring?  (Box says Granulated Chicken Bouillon Flavoring)
(another note: this takes FOREVER, be prepared to spend at least an hour, if not more, preparing this)

  1. Chop the tops off the jalapenos, just a little bit past the stem so it’s wide enough to stuff the stuffing in
  2. Empty out the jalapenos, usually a steak knife works to kind of scrape the insides of seeds/white bits (no idea what they are called)
    • Note that the more seeds you leave in, the spicier it is. While you may want to leave a lot for spiciness, you don’t want it so spicy that it overpowers the flavor of the meat.
    • Don’t worry if you accidentally cut a slit into a jalapeno…it just makes an easy meat-viewing area for later when you’re cooking!
  3. Using a kabob skewer/wooden stick/toothpick, stab a hole into the end of each jalapeno – this provides an air hole so that the meat will go in w/o popping back out when cooked…it’s all physics n shit.
  4. Stuff the jalapenos with the dumpling meat.  I find that a knife works well to scoop the meat in, but a chopstick is better for actually stuffing the meat farther down into the jalapeno (maybe because I use really small jalapenos?)
  5. Heat a large saucepan to medium high. (Make sure you have a cover for this saucepan!)
  6. Pour in just enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan, then add the garlic and stir until it smells nice and not burnt.
  7. Place each jalapeno meat side down into the pan (this is kind of difficult w/o garlic bits popping up and burning you) This sears the meat just a bit for looks.
    • I stood a few up like that, then ended up just dumping the rest all in at once and standing them up individually with my tongs…
  8. Turn the heat down to medium.
  9. Pour in the water so that it just barely half covers the jalapenos, then add 1 tbsp soy sauce and stir a bit.
  10. Add the sugar, MSG, and chicken bouillon.  I don’t have a measurement here, for all three ingredients I just grab a large pinch using my thumb and first 3 fingers.  Then just kind of sprinkle it all over the jalapenos.
  11. Cover the pan for a while…I am bad at keeping time, so I’d say like…3-4 minutes? Until the meat looks done!  Actually what I do is let it cook until the skin on the jalapenos is cracked/peeling and the meat looks done…
  12. Take off the cover.  Do not freak out with a hot cover and almost bang it into your shirtless bf.
  13. Add the other tablespoon of soy sauce.  (Or more if you think the flavor is bland, obviously I don’t taste the sauce so I have no idea).  Maybe add another pinch of bouillon. Sometimes I add garlic powder here but…you already put in a bunch of garlic in the beginning so it’s really not needed.)
  14. Let the sauce cook down a bit, stirring occasionally – you don’t need a lot of sauce, I usually end up with just barely enough to cover the bottom of the plate.
  15. Transfer the jalapenos + sauce onto a rimmed plate, cover with aluminum foil until ready to serve.
  16. Make bf clean up.
Leave a Reply

