Oreo Cheesecake COOKIES

I love cheesecake. Which is kinda funny, considering I absolutely, categorically refused to eat anything with cream cheese until about 2½ years ago. Then one day at work, my boss brought us all bagels…and horrors! there was NO BUTTER.  I had to use cream cheese. And it was delicious.

But not as delicious these Oreo Cheesecake Cookies.

I found the recipe on BrownEyedBaker a few weeks ago  and finally decided to try it out.  I did tweak the recipe a little bit (it used a lot of sugar)…and also I kinda fail at taking left-handed pictures, as you will soon see.

Ingredients

  • ½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature (not too soft)
  • 4 oz cream cheese, room temperature (not too soft)
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup flour
  • ½ cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chip cookies
  • 8 Oreos

I think there must be a way to buy Oreo cookie crumbs straight up, but I don’t have that resource, so I took 8 Oreos and scraped the creme out, setting that aside for later, then crushed the cookies.

I left a few of the larger bits uncrushed, which helped the cookies later aesthetically. Then I put the cream cheese and butter in the mixer…

…and combined until it was creamy. Next, I added the sugar and vanilla and mixed that until it was all incorporated. I also added all the scraped off blobs of Oreo Creme Filling. The original recipe called for a full cup of sugar, so I changed it to a half cup + Oreo Creme. The cookies actually ended up a little TOO sweet for me, so I would change it to slightly less than half a cup of sugar, plus the scraped off bits of Oreo creme.

Then added the flour! (See? left handed pics are fail…)

And the chocolate chips…

Then I used my medium cookie scoop and dropped balls of cookie dough into the bowl of Oreo cookie crumbs… It looks kinda like ice cream!

…rolled’em around…

…and plopped’em on my parchment lined cookie sheet.

Into the oven at 375°F for about 15 minutes (probably less if you make smaller cookies, but mine were fairly large, I think I left them in for more like 17-18 minutes.)

Then take them out! They should be puffed up a bit and the edges slightly browned. When you take them out, they will deflate a bit.

Doesn’t that look yummy?!

I made a gimpy one, there was just a teensy bit of dough left and I didn’t want to throw it away…It ended up a little burnt and too crunchy :(

Piled up all nice for a picture :) Those are Eskimo salt and pepper shakers from Alaska that my bro got me :) SO cute! I love the little doggy!

Mouthwatering closeup. Don’t you just want to take a huge bite outta that?

I sure did!

Oreo Cheesecake Cookies

Ingredients

  • ½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature (not too soft)
  • 4 oz cream cheese, room temperature (not too soft)
  • ½ cup sugar, slightly less than full
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup flour
  • ½ cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chip cookies
  • 8 Oreos

Preheat oven to 375°F

  1. Separate and scrape creme out of 8 oreos.
  2. Place cookies in plastic bag and use rolling pin to crush, then pour into a high-sided bowl. Set aside
  3. Combine butter and cream cheese in standing mixer (or mixing bowl) at medium speed.
  4. Add sugar, vanilla, and Oreo creme, mix until fully combined.
  5. Add flour at low speed until just combined
  6. Fold in mini chocolate chips
  7. Using a medium cookie scoop, drop balls of cookie dough into the bowl of Oreo crumbs and roll around until completely covered. Place on cookie sheet about 1½” apart.
  8. Bake for 15 minutes, or until puffed and edges slightly browned.
  9. Remove from the oven and let sit on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes.
  10. Place cookies on cooling rack for 15 minutes to cool, then store in an airtight container.
Leave a Reply

